A sticky challenge!

Although late, I am sending my “No stitch only stick” penguin to Shruti’s August challenge.  Everything on the penguin has been fastened with glue.

For you Priya, below are the steps that I employed to make the penguin –

  1. Take a toddler size socks which has an ankle( I forget the technical terminology for the socks with an ankle!!!). In the US, you get socks that are like tubes without an ankle, and those socks will not work for this project.  Preferably take a sock that is white and gray in colour .
  2. Fill the socks with whole moong or any other similar pulse. Don’t overfill, leave it at 3/4th’s full to get a beanie feel.  Fold the remaining part of the sock and stick it to the base of the penguin. The folded portion should form a kind of a seat for the penguin.
  3. Cut out wings, beak and feet for the penguin and stick them on to the sock.
  4. Paste googly eyes using glue.

That’s it, you have your very own beanie penguin.

Also, ahem, speaking of “sticks” I won an award on Divz’s blog  for a very interesting Monday Mania captioning contest 🙂

Oh! Last, but definitely not the least, my penguin is up for voting here.  Can you all please vote for me?  Help blog friends!

Tata!

13 Comments

  1. sandhya said,

    August 20, 2010 at 4:03 am

    Cho Chweet!

  2. Swaram said,

    August 20, 2010 at 5:50 am

    Congrats and gud luck 🙂

  3. August 20, 2010 at 10:22 am

    That Pingoo looks too cute, especially that big yellow heart of his 😀

  4. August 20, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    you are tagged! 🙂

  5. Paroma said,

    August 22, 2010 at 8:36 am

    It was lovely to see your mail in my inbox 🙂 So sorry about not replying earlier.

    Congratulations on winning the caption contest 😀

    I am trying to vote for this cute thing but it asks for registered voters and every time I try and register my comp shows that the site is dangerous and I am not allowed to open it from here!!! *Sigh* I hope you win 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      August 23, 2010 at 2:26 am

      Thanks Paroma, for trying to vote. I also realised that the site asks everyone to register. Thanks once again for trying though.

  6. priyaiyer said,

    August 25, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Just read this post of yours. Thank you so much for outlining the steps for me. 🙂 Will try it out some time..

  7. September 20, 2010 at 8:35 am

    […] Rad’s first birthday, along with the Penguin, I made these personalized fridge magnets as party favours for each child.  These are made using […]


Leave a comment