Of puzzles and gol lights!

The theme for the Artsy-Craftsy @ Shruti’s is Thermocol.  Since I had two thermocol sheets from a mail package received earlier, I used one of them to create a puzzle for Na. She loves solving puzzles, so added another to her pool 🙂  The puzzle is very easy to make, cutting the thermocol even easier. Just heat up a knife and slice away. The heated knife will cut the thermocol sheet up like butter( I owe this peice of information to my art teacher Ms. Aruna! Thanks Ms. Aruna!)

The picture –

For the second submission, I took  some thermocol padding that we got when we purchased solar lights for the garden. The padding had nice concentric circles in the front and I got the idea of putting lights behind so that it would become kind of a night light.  I painted them in very simple colours, the first one is a combination of dark brown, yellow and green. The second one light brown with some designs etched with a sharpie pen!  For the lights behind any kind of serial light would do.  I have behind mine, our christmas/diwali lights 🙂

This can be easily done by any 7-10 year old, especially the first one since all it involves is painting!  I have yet to mount it up in the bedroom(the reason for creating these lights), but since I am going to be away for the next couple of days, I decided to put up the submission and then decorate my wall with these lights!

In the above picture, the first two are the pictures of the dark brown one, and the second two are the pictures of the light brown one. The photo showing the groves is the back of the thermocol padding, but I think any thermocol padding in the shape of a box will do just fine for the night lamps 🙂 and your child will have the satisfaction of having created it on their own!

Tata!

PS: updated to add more photos of the light, since one of my friends called up to say the photos were not clear enough!

38 Comments

  1. Arundhati said,

    May 18, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Wow nice!

  2. Citra said,

    May 18, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I didnt expect this would come out this well 🙂 Great work!!!

  3. Sands said,

    May 18, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    very cool 🙂

  4. May 18, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    The puzzle is so good. Did you stick a picture on the thermocoal and then cut it?

    • Shankari said,

      May 18, 2010 at 9:01 pm

      Thanks! Nopes, drew the frog using a picture from the net, painted it and then cut it up 🙂

  5. Shilpa said,

    May 19, 2010 at 1:28 am

    wow.. this is amazing 🙂

  6. Shruti said,

    May 19, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Lovely! 🙂 Its up on my blog./ Hey TPL , shankari. Do let me know when u get ur cards.

    • Shankari said,

      May 19, 2010 at 9:52 am

      Thanks Shruti. I have not yet received it..still waiting 😦

  7. Swaram said,

    May 19, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Awesome ideas Shankari .. I will do the light thing too 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      May 19, 2010 at 9:53 am

      Thanks Swaram. Yes… the light idea, I can definitely improvise on it still, but I think for diwali, navaratri this year, these ligths are shining 🙂

  8. Hema said,

    May 19, 2010 at 5:54 am

    The puzzle is a brilliant idea!

    • Shankari said,

      May 19, 2010 at 9:55 am

      Thanks Hema. The frog does look very cute. I will hunt for the link where I got the picture from, it has lots of art pages for children to colour.

  9. Lavanya said,

    May 19, 2010 at 6:38 am

    Awesome !!! too good ! Am here from artsy ad crafty challenge and i loved both of yr ideas 🙂 great 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      May 19, 2010 at 10:04 am

      Thanks! I was in your blog briefly. Will definitely be back for more jillu updates 🙂

  10. Shalini said,

    May 19, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Very nice lights and puzzle board. I’ll definitely make for C.

    Check out my craft at my blog Shankari and tell me how do i fare.

    • Shankari said,

      May 19, 2010 at 10:05 am

      Thanks Shalini! You fare awesome! I think everyone that participates in these challenges are simply great with their ideas and the implementation!

  11. mim said,

    May 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    lights look like ikea stuff. mah-vellous!

    • Shankari said,

      May 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      Whoa! IKEA???!!!! I guess this comment was late at night when you were almost sleepy 🙂 Take a better look at it tomorrow 🙂 🙂

  12. Uma said,

    May 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Some creative thinking this Shankari! You rock! I’m gonna save the lights idea for golu, if it is ok with you 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      May 20, 2010 at 2:28 am

      Thanks Uma! and meri billi mujhe meow!!! Using my own coin to pay back eh?? 🙂 Use it please… its just an idea that many of us can build on! 🙂

  13. ambulisamma said,

    May 20, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Awesome,loved both of them.

  14. Momo's Ma said,

    May 20, 2010 at 10:17 am

    hey lovely, puzzle n lights. how do u think up of such awesome stuff…???

    • Shankari said,

      May 22, 2010 at 6:54 pm

      Remember what I told Uma last time.. empty mind is the devil’s workshop.. 🙂

  15. Pooh! said,

    May 24, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Lovely!

  16. Gaurseamasp said,

    May 25, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • Shankari said,

      May 25, 2010 at 5:56 pm

      Thanks and welcome here 🙂 and oh! thanks for delurking!

  17. Priya said,

    May 28, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Lovely ideas Shankari! Unique as well 🙂
    The lights look awesome..and the puzzle is sure to be a hit with kids 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      June 1, 2010 at 7:05 am

      Thanks! I also like the lights, maybe will paint them in better colours next time 🙂

  18. EC said,

    November 1, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Hi…Tried this out and have posted it on my blog..do have a look if possible

    Thanks for the wonderful idea

    • Shankari said,

      November 5, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      Thanks EC! You brought many smiles with this comment 🙂

  19. Dr Sonia S V said,

    February 8, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Wonderful tip the heated knife idea


Leave a comment