Eppo Pannuvaloe? Debuting Pacchai and Chevapu!

Hello All! Presenting to you , part of my rainbow crew – Pacchai(Green) and Chevapu(Red)

The Background

Paper mache has made me infinitely patient!  I started off making bowls, in a friend’s place, after volunteering to take care of her children. Her older one was so surprised that Mamma had allowed him to get dirty!! when we were pasting on her precious bowls. Off course I had to forget to apply vaseline on the bowl, result – we all had fun, but friend lost her bowls!!! She is still trying to take off the stuck paper.

Then I tried to make a paper mache Krishna doll, something that I can keep for Vishu kani. Made the balloon structure, stuck the paper, let it out to dry and down came the rain and washed the balloons and paper mush down the drain!!! 

Finally decided to make 7 fishes, each one colour of the rainbow and put it up  here. Idea for the fishes is obtained from the Family fun magazine.

  The story

  • The magazine suggested that we use Pepsi/Coke 2 liter bottles to make the fishes. I don’t drink aerated drinks too much, but since I was very gun-ho about making 7 fishes and  H flatly refused to guzzle down 14 liters of aerated drinks(no support for crafts I tell ya!), I turned to the trusty milk cans to make the fishes.
  • Cut out the bottom of the bottle or can you are using. If you intend making your fish with tails, then cut out like a v-shape on both ends of the can. This the tricky part, I wasted 2-3 cans this way.
  • Once the tails are cut out, tape the  cut ends of the bottle using scotch tape. This will give the shape to the fish.
  • That’s it, now make a paste of maida and water, or thin out fevicol, any off the traditional methods for sticking paper will work. Cut up strips of paper and paste on the can. Let the glue dry out and paint on the structure.  Remember to have fun!

The Villian(s)

The erratic weather and my equally erratic allergies!

The Pictures

and you thought I was done gloating about the book?

The climax

Knowing that there were five more to go, the two fishes were last seen singing “Eppo Pannuvaloe, Baki, Eppo Pannuvaloe!!” to the tune of  “Eppo Varuvaro” (Isn’t this a brilliant song?)

Tata!

16 Comments

  1. Momo's Ma said,

    April 17, 2010 at 10:15 am

    ohhh. its marvellous. damn neat. n ur so determined.. not to give up despite all the setbacks…

    • Shankari said,

      April 17, 2010 at 12:01 pm

      Thanks S! I think it is OCD to complete anything that I take up that makes me do it 🙂 So I never start cleaning the house 🙂

  2. Shruti said,

    April 17, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Wow!! hats off to your enthu..
    Lovely fishes. this became a reuse project in itself na? 🙂 will link it up tomorrow. 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      April 18, 2010 at 2:16 am

      Thanks Shruti. Na and I had a good time pasting the paper on the fishes and colouring them. These projects were really a test of my patience 🙂

  3. lostworld said,

    April 19, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Beautiful Shankari.. You can do your ‘Finding Nemo’ movie with different fishes such as these. bright, cheery & they look full of life 🙂 🙂 Good Luck for artsy-craftsy!

    • Shankari said,

      April 19, 2010 at 11:33 am

      Thanks and Hello!

      I just saw your blog and the latest painting. You are an awesome artist!

      About the fishes, well mom and dad at the Avial household are pretty “full” themselves.. so that kinda contributes to everything else looking that way..except ofcourse for Narad, who look like those pins we use for paper. For the life of me, I am not able to remember the name of the pins, in kannada they are called “Gundpins” 🙂 So yeah Narad are the “Gundpins” of the Avial household!!!

      • Shruti said,

        April 19, 2010 at 3:45 pm

        LOL. gundpins is she now? wait till she grows up n reads this.

      • Shankari said,

        April 19, 2010 at 4:50 pm

        If her(Na’s especially) appetite stays the same, she will grow up to be one also 🙂 The hope is she grows into a sharp one..that’s all!!!

  4. Hema said,

    April 19, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Awesome…and a nice title:)

    • Shankari said,

      April 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      Thanks Hema! Welcome here! I love the header picture on your blog..

  5. Uma said,

    April 19, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    They look absolutely lovely! I like the expression of the pachai one 🙂
    Oh I struggled with the bowls as well but got them out eventually, thanks to some expert help…
    …pls do the rest 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      April 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

      Thanks Uma. But, I don’t have the patience to complete the rest.. The friend anyway has decided to not encourage my artisitic attempts at her place anymore, anyway 🙂

  6. Shilpa said,

    April 20, 2010 at 3:51 am

    These are so very sweet… You have tempted me to try one myself 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      April 20, 2010 at 8:12 am

      You should, they are really easy to make. Do let me know!

  7. Priya said,

    April 20, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Very neat Shankari! Cute fishes 🙂
    Good luck on this one!!


Leave a comment