A fresh start…

Taking care of three girls and my “crafty” pursuits allows me no time to blog!  I have been wanting to start writing again for quite sometime and decided to make a fresh start after R’s 4th birthday. 

She wanted a Rainbow birthday and I fell head over heels in love with the theme.  My sister and I spend weeks, planning and working on the various aspects of the birthday party, which was thoroughly enjoyed by the guests. 

Below is a collage of photos from the party – 

Image

 

Rainbow tissue paper pompoms – I followed instructions from http://www.marthastewart.com/265163/pom-poms-and-luminarias-how-to

Rainbow crowns – I follwed instructions from here.  Each child was given a premade crown(each crown took me about 10 minutes to make) along with a zip lock of adhesive jewels to decorate their crown with.  We had them fix it to their head with hair clips. I was a little apprehensive that this might be too girly, but the boys that came to the party had fun with it too 🙂 Oh, the kids also got a nametag attached to a friendship bracelet made with rainbow twine. The nametags were then used to play the “Pin the nametag on the rainbow” game. 

Once decorated, each child was invited to stand near the tissue paper rose wall to get their photo taken. 

We had an art table set up with a crayon resist activity. On white sheets of paper I had the message “Thank you” and the child’s name written with white crayon.  The children were asked to choose a rainbow watercolour to paint on the paper.  The look on the children’s face when they unraveled the message was priceless!  The inspiration for this came from you Shruti! A big thanks to you, for your crayon resist ideas 🙂 

My good friend read the book Elmer’s special day. It was thorougly enjoyed by all the kids and even now by my kids.

Lots of rainbow snacks like rainbow goldfish, rainbow vegetable salad, fruit salad, home made rainbow frosted vanilla cupcake and rainbow cake and pizza made the rainbow party a grand success. 

 After food, the kids played a “Pin your name on the rainbow game” and then just hung out playing among themselves before calling it a day 🙂

I had a blast planning and executing this birthday. Thanks for the wonderful theme R, may you always have a Rainbow Birthday 🙂 

Tata, 

Shankari! 

 

 

20 Comments

  1. January 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    Hugs. 🙂 Love the theme.. and your ideas always rock!!!

    • Shankari said,

      January 27, 2013 at 2:50 am

      Thanks Shruti. I hope I can bounce back on the blog. There just seems to be no time to write!

  2. Vinitha said,

    January 26, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Welcome back! A few weeks back I was thinking about you and the girls for some reason. I was thinking about sending you a message but never got around! Good to see you back and the party details look beautiful

    • Shankari said,

      January 27, 2013 at 2:51 am

      Thanks Vinitha. It is always a pleasure to write. Hopefully this time around I will really stick it out! Only time can tell 🙂

  3. sandhya said,

    January 27, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Good to see you back. Looking forward to more updates. Hugs to the 3 little ones!

    • Shankari said,

      January 28, 2013 at 1:58 am

      Sandhya, yes it is good to be back! Still in the “pen freeze” stage.. hopefully I will get out of it soon!

  4. mniamma said,

    January 28, 2013 at 3:05 am

    Sounds like an awesome party Shankari! Nice to read your updates. Keep them coming.

    • Shankari said,

      January 28, 2013 at 3:10 am

      Yes, it was a great party. I had a blast planning and implementing the party 🙂 Hope you and the kids are doing great Mniamma!

  5. maidinmalaysia said,

    January 28, 2013 at 5:49 am

    awesome to see you back..

    • Shankari said,

      January 28, 2013 at 11:20 pm

      Thanks MiM! You know, everytime I baked a cake, for some reason, you always came to my mind! I used to wonder and still do everytime I make a cake what your reaction to it, would be:)

      • maidinmalaysia said,

        January 30, 2013 at 4:20 pm

        i always think of you around navarathri… your kolus are lovely

      • Shankari said,

        February 1, 2013 at 3:58 am

        Thanks MiM 🙂 I should post some photos of this year’s golu and my cake snaps just for you!

  6. VV said,

    January 28, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    We all had fun. My son wants that book now! Hats off to you for all the planning and then in executing it without a hitch!!
    And finally you have restarted writing.. yeah… I enjoy to read and look forward to your posts so hope your girls give you more inspiration and we all get to enjoy that inspirations also be it writing , crafts, or the yummy cakes!!!

    • Shankari said,

      January 28, 2013 at 11:22 pm

      Thanks VV! You can borrow the book anytime you want. That has become a favourite bedtime read at home also. I hope to be frequent with my posts.. I love writing.. hopefully my writer’s block will not last too long!

  7. Swaram said,

    February 1, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Welcome back 😀 And I luved the theme and everything else about the party too 🙂

  8. Priya said,

    February 4, 2013 at 9:17 am

    Glad to have you back!
    Lovely ideas all!! Hats off to you 🙂

  9. April 9, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Hi..just hopped here searching for rainbow theme b’day party ideas…I must say..Lovely…

    • Shankari said,

      May 14, 2013 at 6:01 pm

      Welcome to my space! I had a wonderful time making all the things for the party.


Leave a Reply

