Zip, Zap, Zoom Ratri!

Seriously, did any of you feel like Navratri just flew by?   At the Avial household, a month of prep work went into getting things ready for the festival and before we knew it the nine days got over!

This year, H built me a wooden stand with five steps. This and the fact that my parents were here to celebrate Navratri for the first time with me, inspired me to set up the golu on a grand scale.  The five steps had mostly traditional dolls and on the side Narad and I made a small Christmas village which came out pretty good I must say 🙂

It was a lot of fun though, meeting up with old friends and family and making new ones.

Below are a few pictures of this year’s golu.

Ciao for now,

Shankari.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 Comments

  1. anisnest said,

    October 11, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    wowwww… very nice Shankari but I was looking for more pictures 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      October 17, 2011 at 6:25 pm

      Thanks Anitha. I guess by now you would have seen them on FB 🙂

  2. sandhya said,

    October 12, 2011 at 4:30 am

    Lovely! Was introduced to the beauty of gollus this navratri.

    • Shankari said,

      October 17, 2011 at 6:26 pm

      Thanks Sandhya! I can take a guess where you would have seen them.

  3. Sands said,

    October 12, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    very pretty 🙂

  4. VV said,

    October 17, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    nice snaps- yes navratri went of very fast. as always I enjoy coming over and admiring your golu and creative outputs! this yr was superb… and I know i will see more of such every yr at your place.

    • Shankari said,

      October 17, 2011 at 6:27 pm

      Thanks VV! I can depend on you to give me an ego boost right when I need it! 🙂

      • VV said,

        October 17, 2011 at 6:38 pm

        your welcome- the praises are well deserved… I tell S I can never match your energy levels. Also its become a tradition in my house to come and admire the golu at your place- hubby including, so you have to keep up the tradition else my son will grill you for sure….any only Na knows how to answer him back!

  5. maidinmalaysia said,

    October 23, 2011 at 11:37 am

    wow. v. elegant.
    as always


Leave a Reply

