New Beginnings, weekend update and kala tikka!

Hola!

Na started sloka class today, it was held at the local Sai baba mandir and both she and I were so excited to be going to “paatu” class as she repeatedly told everyone that cared to listen 🙂  She was so excited, she refused to take an afternoon nap.  So after giving her a  nice long headbath in the afternoon,  wearing  matching chudidar chattais, off we went to the temple.  Class started in full swing, conducted by two wonderfully talented women. They recited the slokams first and then made the children sing them. Recitation went fine with Na, 10 mins into the singing session, she was snoring!  So much for all the enthusiasm, and teaches me that I need to make her take a small nap in the afternoon!

She woke up promptly after the sloka class was over and was rather upset that she missed all the singing!  On the way back home, I told her that she will have more classes and she can make up for the lost lessons then.  We kept chatting and I got a little philosophical and said that there will be a time when she will be attending a lot of classes, going to them on her own and amma will be too old to take her anywhere and the little imp  immediately tells me “Amma, you are not going anywhere, you will always be with me”! Got me all misty eyed, only the thought that I was driving kept me from bawling!!!

Saturday morning we attended a pooja in a dear friend’s house and the evening was spent entertaining some guests at home. After a very long time, I made “set” dosa at home and it was a hit with the guests!

Hope you all had a great weekend too!

Tata!

20 Comments

  1. October 25, 2010 at 2:09 am

    Glad that Na’s excited about the Sloka class. Loved her “always be with me” response – treasure every moment 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      October 25, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      Yep, took me totally by surprise, her response that is. Sometimes I feel she is so mature and sometimes downright kiddish! 🙂

  2. Laksh said,

    October 25, 2010 at 2:38 am

    how do you make set dosas? I love them!

    • Shankari said,

      October 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm

      The recipe is in a book that Harish’s cousin gave to me. Awesome collection of dosas that sets my drool quotient going once in a while and I end up making a ton of maavu and we eat set dosas all week! Tonight’s dinner is also that only with some kurma 🙂 Will share the recipe with you.

      • A-kay said,

        October 26, 2010 at 9:56 pm

        me too, please 🙂 What book is it, btw?

      • Shankari said,

        October 27, 2010 at 11:22 am

        Sure A-kay. If I am not mistaken, I think it is the breakfast series by Mallika Badrinath. Unfortunately what I have is a photocopy of the book, so would not know for sure.

  3. artnavy said,

    October 25, 2010 at 4:21 am

    i LOVE set dosa!

    Happy sloka chanting and singing!

    • Shankari said,

      October 25, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      Thanks Art! I love set dosas too, especially the bangalore darshini ones 🙂

  4. sandhya said,

    October 25, 2010 at 6:17 am

    Can hear you re getting all misty-eyed and bawling. I too, look at my 9 yr old sometimes and wonder where the little baby I first held in my hands has gone?

    • Shankari said,

      October 25, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      I know! They grow up so soon right? The days I long for my kids to be grown up, maybe I should read such posts!

  5. VV said,

    October 25, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Hey
    So even my son would have snored right thru as pavam he was too tired by our whole day out. Will catch up on this classes later on- so I can get son into this.
    LOL on Na falling asleep- thats kids for you- they cannot fight or cover their true feelings/emotions/moods.
    Other day son had me all teary eye when he said ” Amma i sing all your fav hindi songs in school when i miss you and think about you, what do you sing when you miss me?” . Suddenly he was no more the baby for me, like bigger kids he was using things to remember and could articulate that clearly to me that our fav hindi songs we sing together was a way for him to connect to me. But when I said i too sing the same songs- he said no coz he didnt want me using the same songs, so the solution was I could keep his photo and kiss it when I miss him at work. One min was a big kid and next min a typical 4 yr old being possessive of what he likes! These are precious memories that get stored away in our mind…forever.

    • Shankari said,

      October 26, 2010 at 1:59 am

      Yep, with you totally on their not being able to cover their true feelings and that is why they are so adorable too 🙂 So cute of little V to have remembered your songs and sing it in school. Am sure you might have been very emotional after listening to that 🙂 Thank god he allowed you a different solution to your missing him, am not surprised that he came up with the solution !

  6. anisnest said,

    October 25, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    happy learning Na… are you also learning along with her? Adi might start her karnatic music class next month (not confirmed yet)… I am all excited abt it…

    • Shankari said,

      October 26, 2010 at 2:01 am

      Well, I guess it is invariable that the moms end up learning. I did learn with her and am attempting to teach her so that she remembers something at least before the next class.

  7. priyaiyer said,

    October 26, 2010 at 5:07 am

    How cute!! Such a sweet and unexpected response that was!!
    BTW how old is she?
    Being brought up in Gujarat entirely, I never had the chance to attend shloka, dance or music classes. Curious about the tradition in proper South Indian households…

    • Shankari said,

      October 27, 2010 at 11:24 am

      Na is turning four this november. I’m hoping to introduce her to music and hopefully she will take to it. As of now, she seems very upbeat about learning!

  8. Priya said,

    October 26, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Thats nice..happy learning Na 🙂
    lol at her sleeping off after all the excitement… typical of kids 🙂
    i know the feeling when u hear your tot saying ‘you’ll always be with me’ !

    • Shankari said,

      October 27, 2010 at 11:23 am

      Thanks for your wishes Priya. Hopefully she will keep up her interest in music. Let’s see!

  9. starsinmeyes said,

    October 27, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Awwww! That’s wonderful, and so touching that Na said that!

    • Shankari said,

      October 27, 2010 at 11:21 am

      Yep, I was definitely touched 🙂 They do come up with gems like this often, right?


Leave a Reply

