Navratri – Take 5!

This year’s Navratri came and went and yet I did not find time to sit down and put up at least a summary of the event! Finally today, I decided to put up a mini post before Diwali was staring at my face 🙂

Every year Navratri(I have been celebrating this for 5 years now) is a very grand affair at the Avial household, we host guests almost everyday and a small dinner consisting of  some form of mixed rice, curd rice, one sweet and chundal is given to everyone visiting.  This time however, my health was not at its best and we decided to cut short both our guest list and also the celebrations. 

We did however manage to have a Lalitha Sahasranamam and Vishnu Sahasranamam chanting on Saraswati pooja day which was attended by about 5 families. Overall, I would say, Navratri – Take 5 was a short and sweet success!  Leaving you all with some pictures of the golu.

Tata!

26 Comments

  1. ambulisamma said,

    October 24, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    WOW,WOW!!Amazing stuff.
    How you managed to lunge all of them(including lamps) to US of A?

    • Shankari said,

      October 24, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      Thanks! I have to thank my mom 🙂 She shipped the lamps to USA 10 years ago.. and for the dolls I have to thank my FIL for having carried them all the way from India during one of his trips. Amma purchased them and packed them for him, and he carried it across!

  2. Titaxy said,

    October 24, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    WOW Wonderful!

  3. Laksh said,

    October 24, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Very nice!! Kept the golu on top of the dining table?? Was wondering how you got Narad to keep their hands off the display.

    • Shankari said,

      October 25, 2010 at 1:44 am

      Yes, that is what I usually do since the kids are little. this year H promised to build me a stand, but somehow that did not work out. Hence resorted once again to the good old pampers dabba 🙂

  4. A-kay said,

    October 24, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Looking really good. Nice golu. Hope you are doing better now. Take care!

    • Shankari said,

      October 25, 2010 at 1:45 am

      Thanks A-kay. Feeling a little better now and I have started looking forward to making Diwali bakshanam 🙂

  5. October 24, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Lovely !! I am happy that you managed to have the Solkam chanting – kudos to you for digging into energy reserves and doing such an amazing job !!

    • Shankari said,

      October 25, 2010 at 1:46 am

      Yes, every year we try to have one chanting and I am glad we had it this year also. It helps drive home the festive cheer I feel 🙂 Have to thank H and Narad for co-operating on that day, would not have been possible otherwise 🙂

  6. VV said,

    October 25, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Hi= Nice golu. Now every yr I look fwd to come to your house and enjoy the golu and navratri atmos. And ofcourse I get a lot of inspiration from your enery and zeal to do things always with the traditional flavors intact- its very imp in this country where we need to imbibe them in our kids and you do a great job of with both your girls.

    • Shankari said,

      October 26, 2010 at 1:54 am

      Thanks so much VV! It is always a good feeling to be appreciated! I try to do things the traditional way, though how accurate I am is best left to one’s imagination 🙂 Hopefully Narad imbibe some of this and carry it forward…

      • VV said,

        October 27, 2010 at 3:00 pm

        they will- not now and certainly not as teenagers, but maybe when they have their own family they will recollect these and realize that such traditions provide the connection to families/history and to memories.
        I never did even this much even in my initial mrg yrs, but after kids realized how much my memory of growing up was related to such small traditions and wanted to provide those to kids also.

      • Shankari said,

        October 27, 2010 at 3:46 pm

        Yep, it is true! I have appreciated and understood our customs and traditions more after my marriage and moving out of my parent’s house. Earlier what used to seem like forced upon us, now I love to follow! The desire to cook, the desire to enjoy festivals in the authentic way is so high now!

  7. anisnest said,

    October 25, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    lovely… nice golu n gr8 pics.. i love to see the chetti chettiyaar with all dhaniyams…

    • Shankari said,

      October 26, 2010 at 2:00 am

      Thanks! the big chetti chettiyaar is actually a gift from a dear friend, daniyams courtesy the local indian grocers 🙂

  8. Sands said,

    October 25, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    very pretty. Both lalitha sahasranamam and vishnu sahasranamam on the same day huh? Impressive!

    • Shankari said,

      October 26, 2010 at 2:03 am

      Yes, did not think it was feasible, but the three families that came that day was pretty enthu. H is a big fan of both the chantings and likes to have them recited at home whenever possible.

      • Sands said,

        October 27, 2010 at 4:15 pm

        That’s cool. I am part of a group that chants Lalitha Saharanamam the first friday of every month. We go to each one house and we each get our turn to cook probably twice a year. It’s something I really enjoy and ithas also helped me learn to recite it well 🙂

      • Shankari said,

        October 27, 2010 at 7:37 pm

        Oh wow! that is awesome. One of the people that I met, who was from your neck of the woods also mentioned something on similar lines to me. They are kannadigas, maybe part of your Friday meetup group?

        The cooking part interests me more 🙂 I would love to be part of something like that here(for the eating bit, more than the chanting bit, thought shhh! H would probably have an attack if he hears that!)

  9. priyaiyer said,

    October 26, 2010 at 5:01 am

    Lovely golu. Thanks for the glimpse. 🙂

  10. Priya said,

    October 26, 2010 at 5:38 am

    Nice!! Lovely pics 🙂

  11. Thanuja said,

    November 10, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Very nice pics laks…loved it.

    • Shankari said,

      November 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm

      Thanks Thanu, and I think this is your first time here, so Welcome!!


Leave a Reply

