Time and Tide wait for no man!

It’s true, but life does give you second chances 🙂

During childhood and my teen years, or for that matter even when I started working, I was probably the only person who was the most laid back, extremely lazy, never stressing out kind of a person.  My parents would be at their wit’s end trying to get me interested in some activity or the other. My dad would often quote the above trying to encourage me to learn, but it fell on deaf ears. 

Something changed when I got married and came here. Though initially, I retained my lazy nature, over the course of years I see myself transformed into a “enthu cutlet” (filled with enthusiasm) . Lot of reasons/life events led to this transformation and I love this new me 🙂 (hopefully it is not just a phase!)   Of course, I wish I had paid heed to my dad’s words and learnt all those things that they spent precious money on, I would have probably shaped out better. 

Divz had tagged me long ago, and asked me to list what I want to learn as I grow older.  Since this is my second chance(thanks to H and Narad) when I have time to learn somethings that I ignored while growing up, below is my list –

  1. Carnatic music – This plays a very important role in the day to day life at my parents. My siblings are extremely well versed in music and musical instruments. My parents made so many efforts in ensuring that I learnt this, it is not even funny 🙂  I am tone deaf/rhythm deaf/knowledge deaf(is there a term like that?). Three years back I started learning again,on my own accord,  but I got pregnant with Na and after that have been extremely busy with the kids. Hopefully one day, I can get back to learning this.  
  2. Bharatnatyam – I love this dance form. I learnt it for a year and then gave up. I wish I had continued learning it. Na keeps saying she wants to learn, I hope to live through her in this respect 🙂
  3. Painting – I learnt painting from two wonderful teachers when I was in school/college.  I have miles to go in this and want to learn to paint at least one Tanjore painting. Hopefully one day.
  4. Swimming and Tennis – I listed both together for a reason. I have been chubby all my life and my one and only dear periappa(late) used to be after me asking me to learn either one of these as exercise.  Never paid heed to him then, though I wish I had. Now, I have the time, but there are no slots late night when H can babysit the kids.  When all my stars line up correctly, I definitely intend to pursue these two, at least for my periappa.
  5. One foreign language – I am good with picking up languages, right down to the dialect.   I intend enrolling in classes to learn French and Spanish.

Of the above five, though I am only pursuing number 3 for now, I am planning on get to all 5 in time.

As part of this tag, I need to tag three people.  Since I love to be tagged, but fear tagging anyone specific, I invite all of you to take this up. Would love to read your take on this tag.

Tata!

19 Comments

  1. September 16, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    With your busy schedule, you are able to deote time to learning painting – Kudos to you !

    You aren’t chubby – just cheerfully well-formed !

    • Shankari said,

      September 16, 2010 at 8:56 pm

      Oh, I am not learning painting as of now, guess that statement was misleading! I am just dabbling in it as and when time permits. Would love to learn it though as soon as possible.

      Or as I tell another “cheerfully well-formed” friend, we are from “khaatae peetae khandan” 🙂

  2. Sands said,

    September 16, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Are we twins by any chance? (most of our list matches) 🙂

    1. Ditto
    2. Living it through Meg
    3. It was drawing cartoons for me. Was once pretty good. Dunno why I gave it up.
    4. This is did learn after coming to this country ‘coz I really wanted to
    5. I learned French for a few years but never kept up with it following marriage and kids. Someday will hopefully get back to it.

    • Shankari said,

      September 16, 2010 at 11:04 pm

      Hi-Fi on the matching list!

      Don’t give up! If possible, do give drawing a chance once again. Am sure you will enjoy it as much as you did earlier. I really want to do points 4 and 5, all in good time I guess.

      Are you back from India? How did your trip go? Do put up posts…

  3. September 17, 2010 at 6:06 am

    My bucket list exactly!! Hugsss.and pottery to that! I just drool drool over pottery.

    • Shankari said,

      September 17, 2010 at 6:27 am

      Hi-Fi and hugs back! Pottery-a? Never actually thought about it…

  4. Laksh said,

    September 17, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Taking this tag. 🙂 You can see am vetti. 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      September 17, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      Not sure about vetti, I am reading it as you are paying heed to my plea 🙂

  5. anisnest said,

    September 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    wow most if it matches with my wish list
    1. though no one learned it at my home… i have a strong like for it..
    2. was blessed to learn it for couple of years… I did my salangai pooja when i was working in my first company.. can you beleive it?
    3. yep on my list.. esp. handcrafts
    4. learned swimming (beginner level) last year… yippeee.. i loved it.
    tennis – not specific.. just want to be active with any sport..
    5. not a foreign language but i want to be fluent in spoken hindi…

  6. September 19, 2010 at 1:19 am

    […] of Narad Tales had this tag on her blog and it made me wonder about what I would like to do when am a little more […]

  7. priyaiyer said,

    September 19, 2010 at 3:23 am

    Woah! That puts me to shame. I have never honestly pursued any hobby except reading and writing. 🙂

    Marriage has transformed me, too, in a lot of ways. Totally relate to what you’re saying. Though I’m not an enthu cutlet like you (;) ) I’ve definitely become much more open to things that I wasn’t earlier.

    • Shankari said,

      September 19, 2010 at 2:45 pm

      Growing up, those two were my main pursuits too 🙂 I guess, I have transformed into one, offlate. It has more to do with keeping myself busy and mentally active since I was used to working all my life. Also, I have realised with age comes a wisdom(in my case, this is definitely true) to understand what parents used to keep reiterating when I was little 🙂

  8. A-kay said,

    September 19, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    To respond to your list, and add my own:

    1. As much as my parents tried, that is out of my reach as I am tone / pitch (whatever it is) deaf 🙂 K hates it, when I attempt to hum a tune, as I cannot hold one :-P. Instead mine would be photography. I love this and don’t pursue it now as K is good at it and being the lazy bump, I don’t make an effort.
    2. This is one of my passion. I have learnt it (in India and here) and would love to go back to it. Classical / Semi-classical dancing is something that I love 🙂
    3. Beyond me 🙂 That said, would love to try my hand at some crafty art form. Knitting / Crochet or even some basic painting but something.
    4. Swimming yes – Tennis, kind of. Oh! Talk about “cheerfully formed” 😉 To add more here, I would love exercise regularly, go on hikes periodically. Again, someday, I will get there…
    5. French – I used to be pretty conversant in this language but lost touch totally now. Sanskrit & French are two languages that would love to learn.

    That was an interesting tag. Enjoyed reading yours as well. You are really good at art stuff, Shankari. I still remember the etched work on some kind of metal, IIRR, (not sure if I got the name right) you had done at your place in Bglore

    • Shankari said,

      September 19, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      1) Me too music deaf 🙂
      2) Hoping to live this dream through Na. Took pity on the floors and gave up dancing here 🙂 H was worried the ceiling would break if I did so much as a “Taka” 🙂
      3) Having fun with it. and thanks for you wonderful compliments Akki! The painting you are talking about is metal embossing on aluminium foil. The painting has a small dent near Radha’s skirt and my art teacher was so mad at me. She kept a careful eye on it after that small accident and kept encouraging me to do a good job. The eyes she said she would do it and she did such an awesome job 🙂

      Thanks Divz for tagging and the rest of you for taking up the tag 🙂

  9. VV said,

    September 20, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Hey-
    Your musings are spot on — so here are mine that i hope to fulfil someday before I become too old:-
    1) I did learn singing- but never finished it-I have singers on both sides of my family- but my wish to complete my singing lessons is still a wish- no time with kids now… During school days I had dreams of becoming a playback singer too! Hopefully one of my kids have the singing genes..!
    2) danced a lot during schools days- too embarassed to shake even a hip now!!Kids don’t like to see me dance now- they think its too funny seeing mom shake a leg! but maybe live thru one of my kids interest in this maybe??
    3)swiming- tried 3 times to learn and failed- fear of water is too much for me-given this up now. i think my expertise now lies in preparing swiming bags for husband and kids and ensuring food is ready for the pool picnic!!
    4)reading- luv to read… novels especially real stories and science fiction- right now my reading list consists of Disney story books and picture books! What I would do to get a lazy afternoon of a cup of kadak chai and a nice book to curl up and read… but then this is just a wistful literary dream in my current chaotic world..
    5)Just sleep – I have been called the kumbakarani in my house, rightly so. right from childhood I have been blessed with sound deep deep sleep-a saying in hindi comes to mind?? Alas nowadays a shut eye means interruptions of ‘ amma I want to go to the bathrrom’ or a wet hand pulling my hair or an agile toddler shoving legs into me to get me to move from my own bed! or right at bed time my older one gets into a sawal jawab session or GK test question – much to my slow moving mind’s exhasperation…So i keep adding to my sleep deficit bank and hope I can fulfil this eventually.

    So of all the ones listed- right now 1 gets done by humming whenever I can- ie before kids ask me to again sing a nursery rhyme for the 100th time, 2 is done when i am totally tipsy :), 3 gets done during summer time when husband and kids head to pool side and they need someone to be the watchwoman :), 4 and 5 get done during train rides to work, mostly 5 for sure 🙂

    hope that as kids get older can rekindle 1 formally…

    enjoyed reading ! keep it coming…

    • Shankari said,

      September 21, 2010 at 1:20 pm

      LOL at your answer to the 3rd! I did not know you could sing. So for Navratri, I will b(p)ray and you can sing 🙂

      I love to read too, but like you rightly mentioned, right now all I get to read are the various under 4 year old story books 🙂 Hopefully one day I can use that reading lamp near my bedside end table, read a nice juicy book and just doze off! At least you attempt to 4 in the train rides! I am not too much of a sleeper, though growing up I had the Kumbakarani title also.

  10. VV said,

    September 21, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    reminds me of our reading lamp…i wonder where ours disappeared?. as soon as son was born it seems to have vanished sensing trouble and extinction!! but yes someday would like to do just that- sit by the beside reading lamp and read a good book with hot chai and doze off- ahh!! Reading in train gets done once I am finished with sleeping- which in my case is never finished 🙂 so not much progress there but small steps for sure…

    no probs in singing for navratri time… bit off practice now and i know only till varnams in carnatic music…but can oblige..if my own kids permit me singing anything outside of nursery ryhme 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      September 21, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      🙂 hot chai with a book sounds yum! I’m sure kids will be too busy playing, leaving you to exercise those vocal chords 🙂


Leave a Reply

