Pray tell me…

If my Blog Stats shows me that there are 185 views on a particular day, but I get comments only from a handful, does it mean the same person kept coming back, and each visit of his/hers kept getting counted or multiple people kept reading the blog at different points of time.

If it is the former, I’m highly flattered.  Oh! returning guest! I love it that I have entertained you enough through my writing skills(or you are so amazed at my lack of it, that you keep coming back to shake your head!!!).

If it is the latter pray tell me if my writing has bothered you and hence you are not commenting(am assuming it is the writing since you definitely cannot smell me! Thank god for the cyber world 🙂 )

Do delurk and leave a comment. I would love to know what you think, yes all 185 of you, if I am reading the blog stats correctly!

Tata!

31 Comments

  1. Uma said,

    July 22, 2010 at 4:24 am

    I’ve never checked these stats…
    Anyway, you know I’m a regular delurker….probably the 57th visitor 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 4:33 am

      Okay, I know this post at least got one commentor 🙂 In school, my roll number was 56 and the person next to mine, was 57 of course. Till our 10th, we called each other 56 and 57 instead of our names, and got a kick out of it! So I hereby confer the title “57” on thee oh regular delurker Uma!!! 🙂 Thank you for taking me back to school days with your comment.

  2. PV said,

    July 22, 2010 at 4:33 am

    Its the latter – folks usually read w/o commenting – since its easier 🙂

    Its like living together vs being married – all the benefits without any of the responsibilities

    Your regular commenters will always be like Ol’ Faithful 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 4:36 am

      Me likey the comparison! Thanks for clearing the confusion and yes, I do look forward to your comment on my posts PV! So please keep them coming!!!

  3. PV said,

    July 22, 2010 at 5:05 am

    Another thing – The “Visits” count tells yo the number of visitors (repeat visitors inclusive). If you are referring to 185 Page Views – then it could be that you had a total of 5 viewers who viewed 185 pages cumulatively 😉

    Also, most stat counters will not show visitors who read you via Google Reader/Direct RSS Feed – unless they hop down to a specific post to comment

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 9:58 am

      Ah! Now I get it! Oh the bursted bubble spilleth all over! 🙂 Thanks so much for such a detailed response. I guess I need to read up more about these stat counters before coming up with the post!! 😉

  4. utbtkids said,

    July 22, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Lurkers :))

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 9:59 am

      You don’t lurk! I know you, so that does not count 🙂 Thanks much for your comments.

  5. Timepass said,

    July 22, 2010 at 7:01 am

    If you get the answer, pls share it with me too! I also keep wondering how come 50 people read the post but just 2 comment on it!

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 10:02 am

      Below are PV’s responses to the question, maybe that will help you?

      “Its the latter – folks usually read w/o commenting – since its easier

      Its like living together vs being married – all the benefits without any of the responsibilities

      Another thing – The “Visits” count tells yo the number of visitors (repeat visitors inclusive). If you are referring to 185 Page Views – then it could be that you had a total of 5 viewers who viewed 185 pages cumulatively

      Also, most stat counters will not show visitors who read you via Google Reader/Direct RSS Feed – unless they hop down to a specific post to comment

  6. Jyothy said,

    July 22, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Hello Shankari,

    First time visitor- hopped over from mindful meanderings.
    I loved all your craft projects(esp Pretatoes.
    Thanks for sharing such lovely craft ideas.

    Love
    Jyothy

  7. July 22, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I read your blog in my reader and don’t comment even after visiting unless I have something to add… so I am a guilty lurker.

    Number of page views I think shows how many people visited from your reader, through search engine terms and through email subscriptions or while blog hopping… I love going though my stats 🙂

    Another intersting thing is the search engine keywords – what brought people to your blog via google /yahoo etc.

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      Thanks IHM for your informational comment. I know that most of you comment on one post or another. Even I bog hop and don’t add a comment unless I feel I have something of value to add as a commentor to a particular post. That said, I was just curious about the numbers shown on my blog stats and I wondered if there were many who kept reading but never commented. My sis and parents are defn in that group 🙂

  8. rrmom said,

    July 22, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    I do comment at times.

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 7:41 pm

      Yes you do! Thanks rrmom! Like I mentioned to IHM, I was trying to find out, through this exercise, if there were people who never commented. Not that there is anything wrong with it, but this “devil’s workshop” needed some thinking for today!

  9. Sands said,

    July 22, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    When you have an answer, please share. I have the same questions 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      He He! Looks like a lot of us are in the same boat of trying to solve this rahasyam 🙂

  10. July 22, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    I comment only if I have something substantial to say. I’m not one for generic comments.

    And also I am a little partial towards WP blogs because my credentials are saved. For blogger, I need to login, which I am lazy to do sometimes 😦

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      Ditto on commenting only if there is a value add to the topic under consideration, unless it is a couple of blogs that I follow on almost a daily basis. I’m partial to WP blogs too! Somehow that extra effort of putting in credentials really kills the moment of commenting!

  11. Swaram said,

    July 23, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Why r comments on ur blog disappearing 😦

    • Shankari said,

      July 23, 2010 at 11:08 am

      Not disappearing, lazy Narad’s mom not approving fast enough to keep pace with your commenting speed!

  12. ambulisamma said,

    July 23, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Most i lurk at yourblog and i have the same confusion as yours,when a particular post has been viewed 38 times,i get only 4 comments.
    Also these days am not feeling like much inclined towards comments,still when the no.of comments go high,its gr8 to see.

  13. ambulisamma said,

    July 23, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    sorry,its delurk,not lurk.I almost delurk at your blog.
    Most days i visit you,and there will not be any posts,on one fine day when idont visit there will be ‘N’ and i will be lazy to comment on all,but do it only the lastest.

    • Shankari said,

      July 24, 2010 at 4:27 am

      I’m by nature a very lazy person and write only when I’m motivated enough! So mostly there are no blog posts. Thanks to H, I’m blogging almost everyday now-a-days. He is on my case asking me to pen more poems and I’m writing other stuff, but writing alright!

  14. Pooh! said,

    July 24, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Me? Am I a lurker? At times yes

    • Shankari said,

      July 24, 2010 at 4:29 am

      I guess I was aiming to figure out if people that never delurked, delurked to that post. Tough luck I must say! There are some tough cookies out there(my family!!!) who don’t want to delurk no matter what I write 😦

  15. sandhya said,

    July 26, 2010 at 3:57 am

    LOL! De-lurking here. I am one of those guilty ones who reads often, but doesn’t comment. I guess I felt it was not very polite to add my bit unless I really have something to say, since I did not know you well. But I think it should be good enough that utbt is my friend (online, but good friend nevertheless) and you are her friend, so I can safely say I can de-lurk oftener. And I know your confusion. My latest post on fear has been read by 97 people according to the stats, but I got only 2 comments. I wonder what it is that people fear. I love getting comments as that gives me another persons viewpoint and enriches my experience of that post. As you said, I wish all 97 would comment.
    Sorry for the mini post.

    • Shankari said,

      July 26, 2010 at 5:50 am

      Oh you are very welcome to add your bit, afterall it is a blog open to all of you. UTBT is definitely a good friend, albiet online 🙂 I’m guilty of not commenting on your fear post, yesterday was an drain on so many levels, and I kept randomly reading posts in your blog. Please don’t apologise for the mini post, you can definitely use it to write longer posts too!

  16. sandhya said,

    July 26, 2010 at 3:58 am

    Blog-rolling you.


Leave a Reply

