One more in the list of trash to treasure..

Narad love to eat fruit based puddings, actually all kinds of puddings, but they are partial to fruit based.  I got a Lychee flavoured pudding from the Indian grocers couple of weeks ago and the kids have binged on them quite regularly.  The shape of the plastic containers that the pudding came in was very beautiful and I saved all the containers for a windchime project that I had in mind. Shruti’s july challenge also co-incidentally had the theme as “Trash to treasure” .

However, lethargy set in and I was nowhere near finishing this project. Thanks to H’s boot placed firmly on my lazy behind, I worked on getting the windchime done. Below are some  the pictures of the windchime.  The brown bell-like objects are the pudding cups. The plate on top is the lid of a yogurt container.

Na helped me thread the beads and that’s about her assitance in this project.   I guess children in the age group 7-10 will be able to do this with some assitance from elders.  What do you say Shruti?

Updated with a small tutorial – All for you Priya!

  1. Using acrylic colours paint the pudding cups and yogurt lid with a colour of your choice. I’m thinking if you sand the surface of the plastic cups and lid, the paint will stick better.
  2. Once you have painted, and it dries, using nylon thread , thread the beads and fix it to the lid and the cups with knots.
  3. Attach a string of beads to the other side of the lid in the form of a loop, again with knots and viola! you have a beautiful windchime.  I’m guessing the chimes(mani’s) that you get in India are much more loud and musical than the ones that we get here. So while the ones here look fancy, not too much noise 😦

Hope this helps Priya.  Let me know if you need more details.

Tata!

13 Comments

  1. Priya said,

    July 22, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Wow! Simple yet stunning 🙂

  2. Swaram said,

    July 22, 2010 at 6:15 am

    Wowwwwww! Am totally impressed 🙂

    And I delurk all the time 😛 😛

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 10:01 am

      Yes I know you do hon! And you are such a morale/ego booster too with your lovely comments! So Thank you 🙂 The number of smilies in your comments, always perks me up.

  3. Arundhati said,

    July 22, 2010 at 7:14 am

    Very nice. Did you paint the pudding cups or do they come in that lovely rust colour? What kind of paints?

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 10:04 am

      Thansk Arundhati. I did paint the cups, they are transluscent like plastic containers. I used a rust colour acrylic paint. For the very first cup, I used an acrylic sealer and then painted. After that I just painted right on top, though the next one I make, I will make sure to use the sealer and make be like UTBT mentioned in her submission to this challenge, prime the base also so that the paint holds better.

  4. ambulisamma said,

    July 23, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Superb,you have done so many posts when i was absent.

  5. priyaiyer said,

    July 24, 2010 at 6:39 am

    This is so beautiful… 🙂

  6. priyaiyer said,

    July 25, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    how do you make sure it’s heavy enough to hang? i mean…. pudding cups would be quite light, right? and pls pls tell me how to make this

    • Shankari said,

      July 25, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      The beads and the jingles on the string, makes it heavy enough to hang. I will update the post with a small tutorial. Thanks for liking it so much! 🙂

  7. August 3, 2010 at 2:09 am

    […] Craftsy) Narad won the second prize in Shruti’s Artsy Craftsy July challenge for the wind chime.  Thanks Shruti for providing the creative platform to all of us and your wonderful initiatives […]


Leave a Reply

