Nemo and Dory in the house!

Okay this has nothing to do with the movie Nemo!  I guess most of you remember that the Avial household was sent the Water Stories by Tulika.  Na loves it when I read stories from this book. I usually make up stories within those stories and keep weaving till she nods off.   Today was one such day, when she wanted me to read “House of Sun and Moon” from that book.

For those of you who don’t know what that story is about, let me give you a gist. It is basically a story of how sun and moon built a huge house and invited the universe for a party in that house. Water alone does not attend the party, sun and moon get upset and insist that water should come over. In spite of water’s apprehensions, at their insistence she gather’s up all her “children” and travels to the house. On her entry into the house, her “children”(fishes, different forms of water),mess up the house.

So there I was explaining to her about water’s children and I mentioned that Nemo and Dory and the blue whale and the sharks all of them also go to the house of Sun and Moon. So she repeats every character’s name and then tells me – “Amma, Nemo, Dory, Shark, Whale ellam avaloedu movie-la irukkum amma. Indha book-la illai ” !!! (Amma, all the characters are in the movie only, not in this book.)  I was totally ROFL!!! 

But, where is my sweet innocent Na who would buy everything that I dish out 😦 I need to come up with better and relevant stories!

Help!!!!

Tata..

10 Comments

  1. July 21, 2010 at 5:26 am

    Aww. What a precious moment. Am sure you can come up with better tales without help:) And how lovely to hear that Water Stories is helping you spin bedtime tales:)

  2. Swaram said,

    July 21, 2010 at 5:28 am

    LOL Try them on Rad nw 😉 But she will learn from her elder Sis sooner than later me thinks 😉 😉

    • Shankari said,

      July 21, 2010 at 9:04 am

      Am sure, considering what a role model her sis is to her already!

  3. Priya said,

    July 21, 2010 at 9:35 am

    hehe 🙂 You should be proud of her!!

    • Shankari said,

      July 21, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      I am Priya, I am! However, when all I want is for her to doze off so I can go down for that refreshing cup of chai, I wonder whether I should read to her or have her read to me and get done with it 🙂

  4. ambulisamma said,

    July 21, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    They think beyond us,definitely.

    • Shankari said,

      July 21, 2010 at 6:52 pm

      Oh yeah, most definitely. I wonder whether we used to think like this when we were kids!

  5. Rekha Bailey said,

    July 21, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    How did she finally sleep??? Did u narrate her another make belief story?…..Na someday is going to read all these tales and will certainly have a laugh….

    • Shankari said,

      July 22, 2010 at 3:20 am

      I did have to make up another story and this time I took care that everything was imaginary and nothing she could relate to 🙂


Leave a Reply

