UDLF girl!

Remember the birthday post? I had asked all of you to guess what I had recycled and used in the gown part of the doll. TPL and Priya tried to guess, but were not successful. I guess the picture did not help them much, so, sorry guys 😦

Last week, I did 6 loads of laundry, the how and why I would rather not get into. Yes, yes, there is a point to all this and it all connects to the mysterious element in Nidhi!  Okay, now coming back to the point, when I dry the clothes here, I use something called lint. After the drying cycle, the link gets a lacy look and feel to it. Everytime I had to throw this off, I used to wonder if there could be  some use to it.  The day I made Nidhi, I decided to use this as her border. So I  coloured the used lint and laced her up a border 🙂 

Colouring the lint was easy, all I did was add a drop of red paint to some water, soaked the lint in it and dried the lint. That’s it, coloured lint is ready! 

With the remaining lint and some more purchases from the craft store, that I was dying to work with, I created another girl, inspired by something that I saw in the craft store.  Since yesterday was probably Sand’s birthday(I am not sure of the date), I am sending this girl to her with my birthday wishes! Happy Birthday once again to you and Z,  Sands!  Hope you are having fun!

Presenting to you, the UDLF girl!!! (Used Dryer Lint Flower Girl) 🙂

A closer look at the lint flowers –

Thanks TPL and Priya for humoring me and trying to guess 🙂

 Tata!

16 Comments

  1. Shilpa said,

    April 25, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    wow… this is so pretty

  2. Shruti said,

    April 25, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    award for u…

    • Shankari said,

      April 25, 2010 at 6:48 pm

      Thank you so much Shruti. That was really sweet of you! I will put it up on my blog soon,with a blog post 🙂

  3. Priya said,

    April 26, 2010 at 6:00 am

    Cute flowers! I actually guessed it might be something to do with the pink lace.. but lint ..i had no idea 🙂

    • Shankari said,

      April 26, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Thanks Priya. I guess I should have posted a better snap of the ‘lace’ so that it would have been easier to guess!

  4. April 26, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I never would’ve guessed. This is a great idea!

    • Shankari said,

      April 26, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      Thanks TPL. I always wanted to use it in one way or the other. This seems to be the best way, untill you guys think of anything new 🙂

  5. Chitra said,

    April 27, 2010 at 2:21 am

    I can see how much time you have now….better finish my memory book project as well..

    • Shankari said,

      April 27, 2010 at 4:54 am

      hee hee 🙂 will try and do a good job on that one as well!

  6. ambulisamma said,

    April 27, 2010 at 7:01 am

    First time in your blog,linked thru tulika on Facebook.
    Loved your craftsy stuff with lint.

    • Shankari said,

      April 27, 2010 at 8:00 am

      Welcome and Thank you! I love the name “ambulisamma” almost like “ambulimama”!!!

      • ambulisamma said,

        April 27, 2010 at 12:06 pm

        Haha everyone says so,sometimes i had felt if it is a mistake to have that name..

      • Shankari said,

        April 27, 2010 at 12:49 pm

        Oh! It’s such a cute name… don’t regret it!

  7. Sands said,

    April 27, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Just logged in today. How pretty! Thank you so much. My best birthday gift this year 🙂


Leave a Reply

