Say when!

Momo’s mom tagged me, feels like eons ago now! Anyway, so she tagged me and I have been thinking what to write, considering I need to pen down 7 things about me and really, who in the blogosphere, is interested in 7 things about me!!!  But, just to get to it for her sake I started thinking on what I should write when this scene from a show called “Everybody loves Raymond” just came to my mind.

I used to watch this show a lot when I was new to this country. It is about an italian family that stays in Long Island, the family has two sons of which the younger one with his wife and kids stays right opposite his mom and dad’s house. The whole show is about how the mother-in-law and daughter-in-law deal with the day-to-day challenges within the family and among themselves. The show is peppered with a lot of funny moments, and  is mostly very enjoyable.

One such episode showed Raymond, the younger guy go out to eat at an Italian restaurant that he is a regular in. The restaurant’s owner has brought in his niece as a waitress there. Now she is smoky! Raymond orders pasta and she goes to grate cheese for his pasta. She asks him to “say when!” , when he thinks that the parmesan on his pasta is good enough. He gets so involved in checking her out that he does not tell “when” and she keeps grating and soon there is a big mountain of parmesan on his plate. 

So when Momo’s mom tagged me, this scene jumped out from my memory.Anyway, that’s just some trivia for you people out there!

 Here’s goes the 7 things about me, in true Narad style –

  •  I LOVE sweets! It could be from any state, any country as long as it satisfies my sweet tooth I LOVE it! My preference is for milk based sweets, especially bengali sweets.
  • Natural I like natural as in, I don’t do make up, rather I cannot do make up without me looking like a clown that forgot to wipe out his make up after the act! I also love nature, but my thumb  is definitely not green! I can kill even those plants that was alive and thriving..so plants actually grow feet and run away from me 🙂
  • Artistic – I would like to think of myself as a visual artist. I love visual medium! More scribbles the better.  It is the one medium that talks to me!   
  • Radical – I am radical. I am very open to new ideas and views and I will give it all my support if I feel it will work out, whether it is within the norms of the society, or not.
  •  Appreciative – I think appreciation makes everyone thrive! So I love to appreciate. Sometimes this gets perceived as me being very patronising. But, this is me!  I just love to give credit, be it big or small!
  • Determined – Oh! I’m determined to the point of being bull-headed! If I get determined about something, come hell or high water, I will pursue it to fruition!  
  • I have discovered off late, that I love to write! So this blog is an effort to make sure that my writing juices keep flowing, not sure if they would quench you guys or not 🙂

So are you all ready to “Say When!!!” or do you want more???

Narayana! Narayana!!!

Updated to add – I am supposed to tag 7 other bloggers as part of this tag! However, all you readers out there, everyone of you definitely has 7 itty bitty things to share. So if you want to take up this tag, feel free!  Ciao!!!

10 Comments

  1. rrmom said,

    March 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Nice list you have there. I have a narad episode in my blog too

  2. Momo's Ma said,

    March 26, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    hey cool. i used to love the show too. real funny. n thanks for taking up the tag. n u sure r one helluva writer n creative person. so keep at it.

    • Shankari said,

      March 26, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      Thanks S! You keep making my day with your lovely comments!

  3. Priya said,

    April 1, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    loved the way you have incorporated Narad here 🙂 Ditto as you on NARA and the last point! About D.. cant say it with as much conviction as you!!

    • Shankari said,

      April 1, 2010 at 12:23 pm

      I love my kids names. So wherever I get a chance to put them in, I do 🙂

      At home, my other name is “bull”…now don’t believe that.. it’s all bull 🙂 🙂 I’m just messing around…

  4. Arundhati said,

    April 28, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I am the same on all these points, (including the sweet tooth and preference for milk and in particular bengali sweets!!! And no makeup – thats me, although I wish I could learn to use makeup AND look good with it on. In fact just yesterday I was thinknig what would I say if I had to do this tag and this makeup thing was on that list !!!) except that I’m not artistic… but I think maybe I could be if I try… And I love Everybody Loves Raymond too! That and Friends are my favs 🙂 🙂

    Its funny how when I read these 7 things about yourself tags, I always find that I am similar to the blogger! Maybe its because I like/follow the blogs of people similar to me in some way?

    • Shankari said,

      April 29, 2010 at 6:41 am

      I love friends also (TV show, and lots of good friends) 🙂 And your last line rings true with me too! I guess we like to read similar blogs!!! 🙂

  5. Swaram said,

    July 27, 2010 at 9:24 am

    He he! A tag well done 🙂
    I am nt a gr8 fan of sweets, but I prefer milk sweets to others 😛
    And make-up – he he ditto 😀


Leave a Reply

